Blog Post #7 :: Campus Event Reaction

For my campus event, I went to a Georgia Southern Eagles baseball game.  April 13,2010, on a Tuesday night, I got to watch the Eagles take on the Dolphins of Jacksonville.  I picked this game for my campus event because I have become friends with one of the pitchers on the team Tony Chisman.  In hopes that he would possibly be pitching this game ( what he told me), I went over to J.I. Clements Stadium for a great game of baseball.  It came down to the last inning when the Eagles were losing by 1 run.  A few minutes later though, the Eagles had scored a run to tie the game and had 2 men on base and 2 outs.  If there is a definition for being a clutch baseball player, Eric Phillips took the name for it this night.  After almost hitting a walk off homerun which went barely foul,  he lined one to the left field wall scoring the winning run.  It was a great first Eagle baseball game for me and has definitely gotten me more interest in Ga Southern Baseball. I haven’t gotten to go to any more of their games this season but I will be sure to go to some next year since a player from my old school just signed a baseball scholarship with GSU for next season.  Even though my friend Tony didn’t get to pitch this night, it still was a fun experience getting to see the Eagles win in such an awesome way.  Georgia Southern baseball just earned a new fan with that win.

baseball,Georgia Southern, Tony Chisman,

Leave a comment